Read Recent Journals
Entered By: Mark
Entry Date: 2014-10-06 12:49:37
Subject: Envy
Message:
 

Envy is a powerful evil. Much of the destruction, gossip and political forces are birthed out of envy. It breeds malcontent and other ugly monsters. Worst of all, it is self-destructive and more harmful to the bearer than the target.

I don't think much needs to be said about it. I could give you countless, personal examples, but it's not necessary and I would be venturing into gossip-land, something we are weathering heavily at the moment.

Money is not the only thing that is envied, though you could often trace most envy back to money. We might be jealous of social status, marital status, simple physical attributes or countless other worldly, temporary things.

Here's the hardest part. Christians are commanded to pray for their enemies, even though sometimes the very same people who slander us, at least claim to be Christians.

Most of all, remember that this world is temporary. Why bother being envious of someone, something that will pass away in short time? In the scope of eternity, the possessions, status and pleasures of this world are completely irrelevant. Divide anything by infinity and you effectively have zero. 

Replies to this message
re: Envy  by mike rockert on Tuesday October 07, 2014




Read Recent Journals

Other messages by Mark
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Saturday September 29, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Tuesday July 24, 2018
re: New Server  by Mark on Monday July 02, 2018
New Server  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Repairing and Painting  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Summer  by Mark on Tuesday May 22, 2018
Inbound  by Mark on Saturday January 27, 2018
Monday December 25, 2017  by Mark on Monday December 25, 2017
Kids Home  by Mark on Saturday December 16, 2017
Temp  by Mark on Tuesday December 12, 2017

See other journal entries

829