Read Recent Journals
Entered By: Mark
Entry Date: 2008-04-17 09:49:42
Subject: Thursday April 17, 2008
Message:
 

       Yesterday we were doing school in the second day of overcast, misty cool weather when I told John "pray for the weather to continue so we can butcher a hog today". John's favorite farm activity is butchering pigs, honestly. Well, he prayed. We finished school, killed a hog and proceeded to skin it. We got it all skinned and ready for butchering but left the carcass hanging because there were no flies and the weather was cool enough not to harm the meat. My father always liked to let the meat hang when the weather was right.       Then, we took the fat and put it in a pot over a fire outside. We made lard and all the boys, as well as Faith, enjoyed fresh pork rinds with salt, lime and pepper. It was a real treat, but I didn't eat much because of my weight/age/health. We also fried some yucca in the lard, which is something like a french fry. Paula got home from the girls' school classes and brought bags for the meat. We butchered the pig and got about 95 lbs. of meat from him. This particular pig was kind of a nuisance because he was eating the metal walls (laminates) between two of the pig houses.       So, it was an eventful day on the farm. Last night we made blackberry pie squares. The crust was made with the lard we rendered from the pig (healthy, huh?). We served the pie for breakfast. It was neat because we made the lard and grew the blackberries here.
Replies to this message
re: Thursday April 17, 2008  by Lauren Rutter on Friday April 18, 2008
     re: Thursday April 17, 2008  by Mark on Saturday April 19, 2008




Read Recent Journals

Other messages by Mark
Dad  by Mark on Tuesday October 23, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Saturday September 29, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Tuesday July 24, 2018
re: New Server  by Mark on Monday July 02, 2018
New Server  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Repairing and Painting  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Summer  by Mark on Tuesday May 22, 2018
Inbound  by Mark on Saturday January 27, 2018
Monday December 25, 2017  by Mark on Monday December 25, 2017
Kids Home  by Mark on Saturday December 16, 2017

See other journal entries

1161