Read Recent Journals
Entered By: Mark
Entry Date: 2008-05-07 13:10:32
Subject: Gas Rationing
Message:
 

    Last week the government began rationing diesel because of scarcity in the country. The Honduran economy uses the Lempira, but it is pegged to the dollar, which is falling in value. Therefore, Honduras cannot afford gasoline. Right now, you can buy no more than $10 of gas at a time and it is not often available (just like diesel).     Therefore we are more or less stranded. We have some fuel in our tanks (probably two trips to town), but we are saving for emergencies. I am taking our family to their their swim class and Faith's birthday today in the truck, hopefully a gas station has some fuel available; we don't know until we get there.     As stated in the journal about diesel, Honduras subsidizes gasoline because most people travel by taxi and bus. Taxi and bus drivers strike, park in the highway and shutdown the economy (travel) of Honduras when gas is too high. However, right now the Honduran Government does not have enough money to buy more fuel.
Replies to this message
re: Gas Rationing  by Mike Jones on Thursday May 08, 2008
     re: Gas Rationing  by Mark on Tuesday May 20, 2008




Read Recent Journals

Other messages by Mark
Wedding Crazy  by Mark on Tuesday July 24, 2018
re: New Server  by Mark on Monday July 02, 2018
New Server  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Repairing and Painting  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Summer  by Mark on Tuesday May 22, 2018
Inbound  by Mark on Saturday January 27, 2018
Monday December 25, 2017  by Mark on Monday December 25, 2017
Kids Home  by Mark on Saturday December 16, 2017
Temp  by Mark on Tuesday December 12, 2017
Two Hour Old Lamb  by Mark on Saturday December 02, 2017

See other journal entries

1142